Higgledy-Piggledy

I’ve always wanted to write poetry
Like is that a building? No it’s a tree
Hey, that’s pretty good ! Soon I’ll be an expert
I know! I’ll go and ask Bert

Bert is a nice man but people says he’s dirty
True, but telling him so would make him shirty
Bert could be hurt, so naturally I’m trying to avert
Mentioning dirt which would put him on the alert

All right then, now how about meter?
I know! I’ll go and ask Peter
Peter’s a nice man but has a nasty temper
I found that out when I forgot to fill his picnic hamper

You know I think my poem’s nearly finished
It’s like a painting, just needs to be varnished
Such an easy art, I wish I’d never bothered
Modern stuff is waffle from weak minds that are withered

Leave a Reply

