Now and Then

I suppose I’m living in the present tense
Yet Now seems to be lacking in common sense
What I bought for a penny now costs forty pence
The thought of current prices makes me wince

Considering the present, I stand back aghast
I see all that’s the best belongs to the past
Everything today is changing, far too fast
Everyone is stressed and harassed

But there’s no solution as time can’t stand still
All we do is watch it all go downhill
All we are is grist for someone else’s mill
Each pops a pill, have lost our will

One day for all, there won’t be a clock
We can throw away the key, there won’t be a lock
No longer between a hard place and a rock
Death is the door, just knock

Leave a Reply

