The Pool

When I became unemployed
I resembled an android with typhoid
I had always been a white collar worker
But with paper, I was such a bungler

I resigned myself to maudlin solitude
In a neighbourhood where everyone’s rude
Screams and barks and lots of yowling
Pavements and gardens for the fouling

I could kill, I know, am quite impulsive
One is inclined with others so repulsive
And I’m pissed off with the women’s tittle-tattle
Everyone a cow I’d love to throttle

The life I lead isn’t what I pictured
I blame mum and dad, I’d been blinkered
Or maybe I’m just a stubborn mule
One who wouldn’t join the pool

Leave a Reply

